top of page

The power of words and The wonders of the human form

Introduction

The project is about the incredible display and function of the human body, everyone is the same on the inside but are still individual and unique on the outside. The body is power but so are the things the body is capable of producing like Art, literature, music. All of these concepts generated from one electric impulse to one muscle to one organ. Its fascinating and taken for granted the miracles the human form is capable of.

Artists

Leonardo da Vinci

Leonardo da Vinci was the most significant and important inspiration in my work. His anatomical drawings had not only influenced me but many other artists, his attention to detail and finesse in his work helped set an example on anatomy drawing. I knew I wanted a certain standard of anatomy presentation in my earlier weeks of experimenting.

Da Vinci was a genius in his time and one of the earliest anatomical artists as society was based on religion in his era, science was only beginning to emerge and not be tarnished by catholicism. His work was dedicated to science and art which made an interesting combination of beauty and fact.

I used Da Vinci In my work, by reading his books and researching his sketches and notes on what he learned and his techniques and processes and adapt them to my project in a 21st century upgrade.

H.R Giger

Giger was an interesting artist to come across as his exploration of anatomy is more erotic and disturbing but it was an approach I was willing to use. His work was creating his own grotesque creatures, not human but not entirely alien either, but a xenomorph by using biomechanics and flesh as one in a breed unique to his nightmares and opium induced methods of working.

The famous alien saga, horrified millions with its masterful disturbing creature and the atmosphere this creation made in the darkness. I decided to use giger in my work because his projects were grim, dark and no boundaries in its classification of art. Giger used nudity, penetration and sick compositions to mortify viewers and that inspired me to not sugarcoat my anatomical drawings but to show them as they are.

I tried using his creature for reference in my earlier sketches and see how using dark tones and a completely different anatomy all together to draw besides homosapiens.

Alphonse mucha

Mucha was an artist that has always been an inspiration in my projects because he draws technically and precise like I do, our pencil tones and applications are similar. He is a methodical perfectionist which is clearly demonstrated in his work, as it does in mine. It is interesting to feel closer to an artist's work that is prideful and dignified.

His tonal work and composition is unmatched and he was important to my anatomical project, as he draws the form in all his work, exotic beautiful women almost fantasy. Mucha draws them in majestic and flamboyant poses and showing key knowledge of the human body in order for these pieces to look accurate.

I used these building blocks for my own drawing to improve and draw more accurate human forms, I took life drawing classes to use a first hand source to work from to help dedicate the idea of using traditional practices to improve knowledge and skill in anatomical drawing.

Jim shaw

Jim shaw was an early inspiration, I was collecting research in the library and collected his art book and was stunned in his drawing tonal style, his human form techniques were impressive and decided to collaborate with his sketches and use it in my experimenting process. Shaw covers a wide variety of concepts and media like painting, sculpture but his drawings were what interested me especially his masculine forms of greeks in muscular poses similar to that of the statue of David and iconic bodybuilding.

I had decided to use inks and finalisers in my work as it helps make my work stand out in its own style and I used Shaw's broad inks to help influence that process. I was under that significant impression to make it bold and see how that effects the traditional tonal drawing of the human form.

Theodore Jericault

The raft of medusa was uninteresting piece that was recommended to me by one of my tutors James, I researched his work and was interested in his classical depiction of the human form, his painting style was almost romanticised but yet barbaric and horrific in his methods and bold pieces.

Jericault was similar to da Vinci in terms of passion for human form and painting, he used carts of corpses to research from and draw in his work to get an accurate outcome of the human figure, which is clearly established in his work as the realism and poses are impressive.

I wanted to use his style in the terms of trying to draw organs in particular as accurate as I could and provide the same passion for even the blandest of form.

William blake

Blake was the artist that influenced me to pursue watercolours as my main media for my anatomical paintings and I am satisfied that I went down that road. His work has always fascinated me especially his series of the great red dragon and the women clothe in sun, which was based on the revelation chapter of the bible talking about the end of the world described by christianity.

I used watercolours, in most of my work because I had developed a passion for that media, Blake opened a door to the material for me and it has helped create an interesting effect on my work. Although my work may not be based on the revelations it is still in comparison to his pieces because I explored untapped power, except it was human and not spiritual or demonic.

Roy Lichtenstein

Roy Lichtenstein was a a different are of artist compared to the man classical and traditional artist's I researched. He was a pop artist and relied on popular culture to fuel his work, but I still related to that in the fact that he was a bold painter and used pattern and bold colours in his work. I used watercolours and inks together to create bold pieces and in perspective a pop art appearance.

I used a traditional concept and upgraded it to the 21st century, anatomy is still popular culture as there are always new things being discovered and explored in both medical science and practice but also the art world. The first face transplant was only recently successful and efficient which 20 years ago was not thought to be possible.

This is a prime example of the ever-growing pop culture and anatomy with it which is why I felt the presence of a pop artist like Lichtenstein needed to be in my works process and evolution.

Damien Hirst

The last of my researched artists, Hirst was a prime choice because he was significant in one lesson I needed to learn which was to be as eccentric and open minded to scale as possible in his project as first always does in his work. Damien created bronze states just to show the simplicity and layers of the female form and a fetus growth evolution.

Although sculpture was not the media I was working with, I worked big and wish to continue that process because it sets a statement about my process and my progress as an artist. I had to have to that anchor for my work to flourish and to really be more unique than my previous project.

Quotations

"There are probably several persons, in all who really like my work; and they are enough. I should write even I were the only patient reader, for my aim is merely self-expression"

H.P Lovecraft

This quotation is interesting to my work because it reminds me to not forget that my projects have to be passionate and self indulgent to make them art to me.The views of others is merely insignificant as it is me expressing myself through mind and soul.

"Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt and poetry is painting that is rather felt than seen."

Leonardo da vinci

This is a direct link to my project because I am using literature and art as one juxtaposition and this quote explains the power of the two, but combined they are serious aspirations.

"Art is anything you can get away with."

Andy Warhol

I liked the aspect of this quote, It told me to break the barriers and allow my work be free and be whatever it wants to be against whatever system or regulations oppressing it.

Galleries

Peters seaham studio trip

The class trip to the personal studios for artist's was interesting to see the work and lifestyles of artists after university, including Peters practice first hand. The spaces were huge and seemingly adequate for all the artists that worked there.

we were shown an presentation on how the community of artists work and the help they offer. They do community work with the culture and youth of seaham offering opportunities and embrace to long artists. I received valuable insight into Peters practice as his work was a mystery to me, because I didn't know what kind of art he did, but to see his work was a pleasure.

the tour was interesting because there was a big variety of different pieces to view and evaluate. It was very hospitable and good to explore and received all the answers to any questions I had.

The Baltic

Rasheed Araeen

This was one of the artists I saw at the baltic on my gallery visit, the work is very geometric based and is heavily involved with symmetry and patterns with shapes. Its a very Bridget Riley inspired project I think, its concept I similar and it is interesting to see the compositions of the pieces.

Rasheeds work also likes to collaborate with empty space which is clearly seen here, the work is neat and methodical, almost controlling.

Heather Phillipson

This was the main attraction for me concerning Phillipsons work, the room alit with blue neon lights and all the spacious dark sculptures like the foot and the giant cat screen. there seemed to be an environmental factor in her work, her space was all black just like alot of sculptures, like the colour of the cat for example.

The space was gargantuan and had an oozing ambience to it, intrigue was afoot in the space because I just did not know what I was seeing, trying to figure out its significance was taunting. but the work itself was interesting and unique in terms of what I have seen in other galleries visits.

Tutorials and Crits

I had my tutorial with Peter Wolland and he liked my project as it is very rich and has many avenues to explore. I was given critiques to help form and shape my project into a more coherent process. He introduced me to Damien hirst to help me think more bolder about the scale of my project and maybe the media to use.

The dissertation proposal was also a factor, he liked my question and thought it was interesting that I am comparing Leonardo Da Vinci to the 21st century medicine and how a genius in his era could be perceived as outdated in todays time. Peter explained that is was a great idea, but to make sure that I kept the dissertation running smooth in richness to the art side and not too much as a scientific journal.

I had two Crits, one showing my work, the other viewing others work. The session of my own work was my two huge reprints of my heart organ painting and my warrior blown up in huge A1 format from my A4 studies.

I hung them up side by side and had the original studies as welt show the process but to also see if the original was still superior or if the reprints had surpassed it due to the scale. There wireman valid points about the integrity of the original and the reprints and it created a for and against argument between my peers.

The next session I viewed Alex gouldswork. Alex's work was working with fabrics, white and black and throwing them in empty spaces and let the fabric run free and create folds ad shapes in the cloth. it was interesting to see how fascinated it could be with every influence it had from a person.

It ran like a river black to white and then the clash in the middle between the two opposites which helped span many theories. personally, I felt it could be seen as a symbolism of race war during the 1960's when oppression of the black people was happening and the war waged for equality and human rights.

bottom of page